Red heart with wheelchair on it and tile - Onslow Commission for Persons with Disabilities. Man in chair smiling. Our Mission: Improve and enhance the quality of life for citizens with disabilities who live in the Onslow County area.

Empowering Citizens with Disabilities in Onslow County, North Carolina

Together we can do GREAT things to improve and enhance the quality of life for ALL Onslow County citizens with disabilities.

The Onslow Commission for Persons with Disabilities meetings are open to everyone. Meetings are held every first Wednesday of the month beginning at 12 noon at Jacksonville City Hall Conference Rooms A and B. (see schedule on the right)
Bag lunches are allowed.

The Onslow Commission for Persons with Disabilities is seeking new members and collaborative partners to reach all communities of Onslow County.
Applications are available.

The Commission is also seeking individuals and businesses who may be interested in sponsoring community awareness events such as the Annual Awards Banquet, Ice Cream Social and Resource/Information Fair.

2013 Awards Banquet
Annual Awards Banquet Theme: “Focus on Ability, DIS the Disability”
More information and photos from the Awards Banquet and other events will be updated here on our website.

Two guys arm and arm being friends.

Thank you!

We are here to serve our disabled citizens and educate the public.

Please contact us for more information or to make a much appreciated donation.

March of Dimes folks with sign that reads "Onslow".
Onslow County March of Dimes

Three men, on ein uniform. Middle man holding award.

Recipients of the Bobby Simpson Memorial Award

1993 Vance Barbee 1994 Ted Stefanou 1995 Chick Mikeal
1996 Elizabeth Pleier 1997 Sharon Plain 1998 James Macco
1999 Jackie Mitchell 2000 Aimee Griffith 2001 Paul Quinn
2002 Jonathan Fulcher 2003 Laura Quinn 2004 Gary L. Miner, Sr.
2005 Frank Kenyon 2006 Dot Hochstrasser 2007 Lt. Col. Timothy Maxwell
2008 Terence McGovern 2009 Kenneth Newton 2010 Jeff Sankes
2011 Stephen Hochstrasser    

Man in sharp suit holding award in front of City of Jacksonville seal.

Guy with disability and another guy giving peace sign.

Our Goals

  • To promote public awareness and acceptance of persons with disabilities as equally entitled members of society.
  • To provide education, training, and technical assistance to persons with disabilities as well as to the community in general.
  • To serve as a countywide clearinghouse for gathering and distributing information regarding the rights of persons with disabilities and the work related attributes of persons with disabilities.
  • To advocate for the human and legal rights for the citizens of Onslow County with disabilities as that population may be defined by acts of Congress.
  • To encourage and work with similar civilian and military organizations that are or may be established by the military or municipalities of Onslow County.

Sign exclaiming "Welcome to the Disabilities Awareness Day Ice Cream Social".
Ice Cream Social

Onslow Commission for Persons with Disabilities
2013 Meeting Calendar Wednesday, January 9, 2013
Wednesday, February 6, 2013
Wednesday, March 6, 2013
Wednesday, April 3, 2013
Wednesday, May 1, 2013
Wednesday, June 5, 2013
No meeting in July
Wednesday, August 7, 2013
Wednesday, September 4, 2013
Wednesday, October 2, 2013
Wednesday, November 6, 2013
Wednesday, December 4, 2013

Board of Directors
Alex Shreve, Chairman
Stephen DeLong, Vice-Chairman
Christina Fernandez, Secretary
Daryl Witt , Treasurer
Elaine Lachapelle, At Large
Dawn McCullen, At Large
Mike Wetzel, At Large

Commission Members
Pamela Bell, Concerned Citizen
Collis Niro, Vocational Rehab
Ed Brown, Onslow County Sheriff
Sharon Plain, America’s Charities, MS
Danny Bryan, City of Jacksonville Neurological Support Group, GACPD
Stephen DeLong, Concerned Citizen
Beth Purcell, Jacksonville Police Dept.
Christina Fernandez, Chamber of Comm.
Bill Barrow, Coastal Care
Dora Gaskin, Concerned Citizen
Laura Quinn, P.A.R.E.N.T.S.S.
Thomas J. Gonsalves, EFMP New River
Dusty Rumble, Coastal Civitans
Sylvia Horne, Concerned Citizen
Susan Rumbley, Jacksonville Civitans
Cheryl Kelly, Onslow County Health Dept.
Alex Shreve, Onslow Partnership for Children, Early Head Start
Elaine Lachapelle, Concerned Citizen
Marjorie LeBron, Concerned Citizen
Joseph Traumer, OCCOVO
Carol Hurst Long, O.U.T.S.
Mike Wetzel, City of Jacksonville
Larry Matthews, America’s Charities & ADA
Brittney Wood, Town of Swansboro
Dawn McCullen, Special Olympics
Marcia Wright, Sickle Cell Association
Gary Miner, Sr., Relay NC & TAP

call 910 333 0625 or 910 330 8666. OCPD, PO Box 244, Jacksonville, NC 28541


Your Rights Get Involved Links Contact Us More Information Welcome twitter facebook